- The Progressive Pulse - http://pulse.ncpolicywatch.org -

McIntyre, Kissell vote to repeal the Affordable Care Act

Weeks after the U.S. Supreme Court ruling that upheld the Affordable Care Act, the House pushed through yet another bill [1] on Wednesday to repeal the two-year-old health care law. [2]

Five Democrats, including Reps. Mike McIntyre [3] and Larry Kissell [4] sided with the Republican majority in the 244-185 vote.

Afterwards, Democrat Rep. David Price [5] released a statement criticizing the Republican-led House of Representatives for placing job creation on the back burner in order to try and scrap the landmark legislation.

“The consequences of repealing consumer protections and patient rights are the same as the last time the House Republicans voted to do so in January of 2011: insurance companies would again be able to discriminate against consumers with pre-existing conditions; parents of children with birth defects or asthma or cancer would not be able to insure their children, for example.  Seniors would see the cost of their prescription drugs increase, young people would be kicked off their parent’s insurance plans, and middle class Americans and small businesses would see their insurance costs rise.

“Fortunately, the bill advanced as a result of this legislative temper tantrum will not become law, but that should be no excuse for this sad example of Republicans putting politics ahead of people.  The people have spoken: it’s time for Republicans to get to work on jobs instead of taking patient protections away from American families.”

The bill is not expected to advance in the Senate, where Democrats hold a majority.

Here’s how the rest of North Carolina’s delegation voted on efforts to repeal ACA:

Rep. Renee Ellmers – 2nd District
Rep. Walter Jones – 3rd District
Rep. Virginia Foxx – 5th District
Rep. Howard Coble – 6th District
Rep. Mike McIntyre – 7th District
Rep. Larry Kissell – 8th District
Rep. Sue Myrick – 9th District
Rep. Patrick McHenry – 10th District

Rep. G.K. Butterfield – 1st District
Rep. David Price – 4th District
Rep. Heath Shuler – 11th District
Rep. Mel Watt – 12th District
Rep. Brad Miller – 13th District